Drunk Driving Penalties in Marysville, Ohio

The mandatory minimum penalties for OVI under Ohio law include the following:

1st offense:

  • 3 days in jail or Driver Intervention Program (72 hours)
  • 6 days in jail if your alcohol level tested high or you refused a test and have a prior DUI conviction in past 20 years.
  • A fine of at least $375
  • Driver’s license suspension from 6 months to 3 years
  • Yellow DUI plates possible in cases of high test or refusal of testing within past 20 years.
  • Possible ignition interlock device

2nd offense:

  • 10 days in jail
  • 20 days in jail if your alcohol level tested high or you refused a test
  • A fine of at least $525
  • Driver’s license suspension from 1 to 5 years
  • Mandatory yellow DUI plates
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installed
  • 90 days immobilization of your vehicle

3rd offense:

  • 30 days in jail
  • 60 days in jail if your alcohol level tested high or you refused a test
  • A fine of at least $850
  • Driver’s license suspension from 2 to 10 years
  • Yellow DUI plates mandatory
  • Ignition Interlock Device is mandatory
  • Mandatory forfeiture of vehicle

A fourth DUI / OVI conviction is a felony and carries the possibility of time in a state prison, as well as other serious consequences.